War of the Worts


War of the Worts XIX is in the books! Nearly 100 judges evaluated 855 beers, meads, and ciders and narrowed it down to one big winner. Congratulations to John Slotterback and Fred Rogers (PA Alers) for their Best of Show-winning Kahuna Coconut Porter. It beat out 33 other Best of Show entries to win the big prize. Special congratulations also to Michael Dietz (Keystone Hops) for winning the chance to brew his House Blend Stout at Neshaminy Creek Brewing Company for this year's GABF Pro-Am competition.

The Keystone Hops would like to express our gratitude for the support from the following companies who donated prizes. We encourage homebrewers to patronize the businesses that support them. Thanks go to Keystone Homebrew Supply and Stone & Key Cellars for hosting the competition, Blue Dog Pub for catering the event, and the following local businesses for supplying craft beer: Neshaminy Creek Brewing, Free Will Brewing, Iron Hill Brewery, Naked Brewing, Prism Brewing, Round Guys Brewing, and The Other Farm Brewing.

These sponsors generously contributed prizes at the Best of Show level
Blue Dog Pub, 850 South Valley Forge Road, Lansdale, PA 19446, (215) 997-9988, bluedog.cc
Blue Dog Family Tavern, 4275 County Line Rd, Chalfont, PA 18914, (215) 368-6620, bluedog.cc
Field House, 1150 Filbert St, Philadelphia, PA 19107, (215) 720-1876, fieldhousephilly.com
Free Will Brewing Co., 410 E. Walnut St. Unit 10, Perkasie, PA, (267) 884-6478, freewillbrewing.com
Great Fermentation of Indiana, 5127 E 65th St., Indianapolis, IN 46220, (317) 257-9463, greatfermentations.com
Iron Abbey, 680 North Easton Rd., Horsham, Pa 19044, (215) 956-9600, ironabbey.com
Lansdale Beer Festival, Lansdale, PA 19446, lansdalebeerfest.com
Origlio Beverage, 3000 Meeting House Rd, Philadephia, PA 19154, (215) 698-1158, origlio.com
Round Guys Brewing Co., 324 W. Main St, Lansdale, PA 19446, (215) 368-2640, roundguysbrewery.com
Singer, singerequipment.com
The Brew Works, 569 Main St., Bethlehem, PA, (610) 882-1300, thebrewworks.com
The Pizza Time Saloon, 1900 West Point Pike, West Point, PA 19486, (215) 699-5150, pizzatimesaloon.com
These national sponsors generously contributed prizes at the Best of Show level
Blichmann, blichmannengineering.com
BSG HandCraft, bsghandcraft.com
LD Carlson, ldcarlson.com
National Chemical, nationalchemicals.com
Polarware, polarware.com
These local sponsors generously contributed prizes at the category level
Airgas, 131 Horsham Rd, Horsham, PA 19044, (215) 443-0982, airgas.com
Appalachian Brewing Company, 50 W 3rd Ave, Collegeville, PA 19426, (484) 973-6064, abcbrew.com
Artisan Homebrew, 128 E. Lancaster Ave, Downingtown, PA 19335, (610)-873-4677, artisanhomebrew.com
Beerheads, Worcester PA, beerheads.com
Forest & Main, 61 N. Main St., Ambler PA, forestandmain.com
Keystone Homebrew Supply, 435 Doylestown Rd, Montgomeryville, PA, (215) 855-0100, keystonehomebrew.com
Keystone Homebrew Supply, 599 Main St., Bethlehem, PA 18018, (215) 997-0911, keystonehomebrew.com
Philadelphia Brewing Co., 2439 Amber St., Phila, PA 19125, (215) 427-2739, philadelphiabrewing.com
Philadelphia Distilling, 12285 McNulty Rd #105, Philadelphia, PA, (215) 671-0346, philadelphiadistilling.com
Princeton Homebrew, Rt. 29 N. 208 Sanhican Dr., Trenton, NJ 08618, (609) 252-1800, solarhomebrew.com
Sandt's Honey Company, sandtshoneycompany.com
Simply Homebrew, 2 Honey Hole Rd, Drums, PA 18222, (570) 788-2311, simplyhomebrew.com
Sly Fox Brewery/Restaurant, Phoenixville (610) 935-4540 & Pottstown, PA (484) 300-4644, slyfoxbeer.com
SPZ Products, spzproducts.com
Standard Tap, 901 N 2nd St, Philadelphia, PA 19123, (215) 238-0630, standardtap.com
Tria Cafe, 18th & Sansom St. Philadelphia PA, (215) 972-8742, triacafe.com
Washington House Restaurant, 136 N. Main Street, Sellersville, PA 18960, (215) 257-3000, washingtonhouse.net
Weyerbacher Brewing Company, 905G Line Street, Easton, PA, (610) 559-5561, weyerbacher.com
These national sponsors generously contributed prizes at the category level
White Labs, Inc., whitelabs.com
Foxx Equipment, foxxequipment.com
These local sponsors generously contributed prizes
Beer World, 1409 Easton Rd, Roslyn, PA, (215) 659-0891
Bigtop Beverage, 1555 Easton Rd, Roslyn, PA 19001, (215) 659-5445, bigtopbev.com
Bob’s Cases & Kegs, 408 Doylestown Pike, Montgomeryville, PA 18936, (215) 855-9191
Brew Your Own Beer, 2026 Darby Road, Havertown, PA 19083, (610) 449-5496, brewyourownhavertown.com
Capone’s Restaurant, 224 W Germantown Pike, Norristown, PA 19401, (610) 279-4748
Dock Street Brewery, 701 S. 50th Street, West Philadelphia, PA 19143, (215) 726-2337, dockstreetbeer.com
Earth, Bread & Brewery, 7136 Germantown Ave Philadelphia, PA 19119, (215) 242-6666, earthbreadbrewery.com
Johnny Brenda’s, 1201 N Frankfort Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19125, (215) 739-9684, johnnybrendas.com
Keswick Tavern, 294 N Keswick Ave, Glenside, PA 19038, (215) 886-4277, keswicktavern.net
McKenzie Brew House, Malvern, Berwyn, & Glen Mills, PA, mckenziebrewhouse.com
Neshaminy Creek Brewing, 909 Ray Ave, Croydon, PA 19021, (215) 458-7081, neshaminycreekbrewing.com
North Wales Beer & Soda, 120 N 3rd St., North Wales, PA 19454, (215) 699-3457
PJ Whelihan’s Pub, 799 Dekalb Pike, Blue Bell, PA 19422, (610) 272-8919, pjspub.com
Prism Brewing Company, 810 Dickerson Rd, Suite B-2, North Wales 19454, (267) 613-8572, prismbeer.com
River Horse Brewing Company, 80 Lambert Ln, Lambertville, NJ 08530, riverhorse.com
Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brewery, 1001 King of Prussia Plaza, KoP, PA 19406, (610) 230-2739, rockbottom.com
Sancho Pistola's, 19 W Girard Ave. Philadelphia, PA, (267) 324-3530, sanchopistolas.com
Sir Winston's Pub, 277 N. Keswick Ave, Glenside, PA 19038, (215) 887-0809, sirwinstons.com
Triumph Brewery, New Hope, PA, Princeton, NJ & Philadelphia, PA, (215)-862-8300, triumphbrewing.com
Tired Hands Brewing Co., 16 Ardmore Ave, Ardmore, PA 19003, (610) 896-7621, tiredhands.com
Victory Brewing Company, 420 Acorn Ln, Downingtown, PA 19335, (610) 873-0881, victorybeer.com
Weak Knee Homebrew, 1300 N Charlotte St, Pottstown, PA 19464, (610) 327-1450, weakkneehomebrew.com
Yards Brewing Co., 901 N Delaware Ave, Phila, PA 19123, (215) 634-2600, yardsbrewing.com
These national sponsors generously contributed prizes
Allagash Brewing Co., allagash.com
Brew Your Own Magazine, byo.com
Escali, escali.com
Forty Below, 40below.com
Storey Books, storey.com
Wyeast Laboratories, wyeastlab.com

Results have been posted. Congrats to all the winners!


Keystone Cup


The War of the Worts is the first leg of the Keystone Cup club competition. Homebrew clubs accumulate points at War of the Worts and Malt Madness (September) when club members’ beers win. The club with the most points at the end of both competitions takes home the Keystone Cup. Complete rules can be found at Keystone Homebrew Supply's website.
In past years, the Keystone Cup has been decided by a tiebreaker so your entry could be the difference! You must list your club affiliation on your entry form for your entry to count towards your club’s Keystone Cup standing.


Eastern Pennsylvania Homebrewer of the Year


The War of the Worts is also the first leg of the Eastern Pennsylvania Homebrewer of the Year (EPHY) competition. 2013’s title was dominated by Josh Weikert of the Stoney Creek Homebrewers. Will you make a run for the title this year? The four legs of the EPHY award are: War of the Worts, Buzz Off, Malt Madness and the Stoney Creek Homebrewers Amateur Brewing Championship. Complete rules can be found at the Stoney Creek Homebrewers website.